Grants and Awards in 2015

2015 has been an excellent year for our researchers and investigators! Our researchers and investigators obtained numerous national and international awards and obtained significant funding to further our research enterprise and improve patient care. 

Grants Success

CIHR Operating Grants
Dr. Girish Dwivedi – “Myocardial blood flow reserve & vascular inflammation in psoriasis & psoriatic arthritis: response to biologics”
Amount: $315,576 over 3 years

Dr. Peter Liu – “IGFBP7 – A novel biomarker, & a clue to the pathophysiology heart failure with preserved ejection fraction”
Amount: $595,099 over 5 years

Dr. Derek So – “The RAPID-TITRATE CABG Study” Amount: $512,179 over 3 years

Dr. David Birnie – “Cardiac Sarcoidosis Multicenter Prospective Cohort” Amount: $100,000 for 1 year

Dr. Michel Le May – “The SAFARI STEMI trial” Amount: $100,000 for 1 year

Dr. Heather Tulloch – “Neurocognitive outcomes after out-of-hospital cardiac arrest” Amount: $100,000 for one year

CIHR Salary Awards

Dr. Darryl Davis – Clinician Scientist Phase 2 Renewal: “Strategies to enhance cardiac repair of advanced ischemic cardiomyopa-thy by autologous cardiac-derived cells” Amount: $180,000 over 3 years Ranked #1 in this competition!

Dr. Girish Dwivedi – New Investigator Award: “Interdisciplinary approaches to explore mechanisms underpinning coronary atherosclerosis in inflammatory conditions” Amount: $300,000 over 5 years

Heart and Stroke Foundation Grants-in-Aid
Dr. Tom Lagace – “Regulation of PCSK9 binding interaction with LDL receptor” Amount: $269,455 over 3 years
Dr. Heather Tulloch – “Neurocognitive outcomes after out-of-hospital cardiac arrest” Amount: $149,644 over 3 years

Strategic / Targeted Grants
Dr. Peter Liu and the COMET Alpha Team - Ontario Research Fund – Large Infrastructure Grant
“Centre for Original Medical Target Evaluation & Transformation – Accelerating a First in Human Innovation Strategy Project (COMET Alpha)” Amount: $5.8M

Dr. Katey Rayner (with Dr. Tommy Alain, CHEO) CFI John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF) “Targeting the translatome in disease” UOHI portion: $364,282

Dr. Darryl Davis (with Dr. Michael Rudnicki, OHRI) - CFI Innovation Fund “Stem cell epigenetics & therapeutics “
UOHI portion: $450,000

Dr. Thais Coutinho – HSF Emerging Research Leaders Initiative “Investigating the pathogenesis & clinical applications of arterial health in cardiovascular diseases” Amount: $148,927 over 3 years

Drs. George Wells (with Dr. Anthony Tang, Western University, and other researchers) – Networks of Centres of Excellence: The Canadian Arrhythmia Network (CANet) Amount: $26.3M

Drs. Rob Beanlands; Rob deKemp; Peter Liu; Terry Ruddy; Glenn Wells (with Dr. Frank Prato, Lawson Health Research Institute) – Ontario Research Fund Large Infrastructure Grant “Heart failure: Prevention through early detection using new imaging methods”

Other Grants
Dr. Katey Rayner (with Dr. Kathryn Moore, New York University) - National Institutes of Health Research Grant
“miR33 pathway inhibition for improving HDF functionality” UOHI portion: $USD 506,564 over 4 years

Dr. Emilo Alarcon – NSERC Discover grant “Biomimetic nano-composite materials for tissue engineering” Amount: $125,000 over 5 years

Dr. Tom Lagace - Pfizer’s ASPIRE Cardiovascular Research Grant “Investigating the role of PCSK9 in health & disease”
Amount: $USD 100,000 for 1 year

Dr. Thais Coutinho – J. P. Bickell Foundation Medical Research Grant “Novel assessments of ventricular-arterial interactions to en-hance our understanding of the pathogenesis of heart failure with HFpEF” Amount: $64,988 for 1 year

Dr. Emilo Alarcon – Burroughs Wellcome Fund (BWF) Collaborative Research Travel Grant (to Harvard University) “Biopolymer coated silver nanoparticles with anti-biofilm & anti-inflammatory properties for sutureless wound closing” Amount: $10,000

Dr. Hua Huang, Postdoctoral Fellow (Supervisors: Dr. Alexandre Stewart; Dr. Hsiao-Huei Chen, OHRI) – CIHR Fellowship “How a novel innate immune regulatory factor affects liver cholesterol & triglyceride homeostasis” Amount: $135,000 over 3 years

Dr. Reza Jafar, Postdoctoral Fellow (Supervisor: Dr. Munir Boodhwani) – “Understanding the pathophysiology of aortic insufficiency & improving virtual aortic valve repair surgery” Amount: $115,000 over 2 years

CIHR Doctoral Research Award
Mr. Pushpinder Kanda, MD-PhD Candidate (Supervisor: Dr. Darryl Davis) – “Autologous stem cells for advanced ischemic cardio-myopathy” Amount: $105,000 over 3 years

Ontario Graduate Scholarships (each award is $15,000 for one year)
Mr. Bora Nadlacki, MSc Candidate (Supervisor: Dr. Erik Suuronen)
Ms. My-Anh Nguyen, PhD Candidate (Supervisors: Dr. Katey Rayner)
Mr. James Podrebarac, MSc Candidate (Supervisors: Drs. Emilio Alarcon & Erik Suuronen)
Ms. Samantha Sarkar, PhD Candidate (Supervisor: Dr. Tom Lagace)


CIHR Travel Awards ($1,200)
New Investigator: Dr. Jennifer Reed
Fellows: Dr. Myra Cocker (Supervisor: Dr. Rob Beanlands)
Dr. Denuja Karunakaran (Supervisor: Dr. Katey Rayner)
Dr. Brian McNeill (Supervisor: Dr. Erik Suuronen)
Dr. Stephanie Prince Ware (Supervisor: Dr. Bob Reid)
Dr. Steven Promislow (Supervisor: Dr. Ian Burwash)
PhD Candidate: Ms. My-Anh Nguyen (Supervisor: Dr. Katey Rayner)

Basic Cardiovascular Sciences Abstract Travel Grant for the AHA Scientific Sessions
Mr. Ragnar Vilmundarson (Supervisor: Dr. Alexandre Stewart) - $350 stipend

University of Ottawa Faculty of Medicine Clinical Research Chairs
Dr. David Birnie – Clinical Research Chair in Cardiac Arrhythmia (Tier 1)

Dr. Darryl Davis – Clinical Research Chair in Cardiac Regeneration (Tier 2)

Dr. Lisa Mielniczuk – Clinical Research Chair in Heart Failure and Pulmonary Hypertension Research (Tier 2)

Canadian Cardiovascular Society (CCS) Research Achievement Award
Dr. Rob Beanlands

CCS Young Investigator Award
Dr. Thais Coutinho

Canadian Heart Failure Society Board of Directors
Dr. Haissam Haddad — Elected as Chair of the Board of Directors

Canadian Society of Echocardiography Bursary Award (at CCC)
Dr. Kevin Boczar, Cardiology Resident

Canadian Association of Cardiovascular Prevention & Rehabilitation Scholarships (at CCC)
Dr. Jennifer Reed; Dr. Stephanie Prince Ware (Supervisor: Dr. Bob Reid); Ms. Katelin Gresty

Canadian Council for Cardiovascular Nursing Poster Award (at CCC)
Ms. Krystina Lewis (Supervisors: Dr. Dawn Stacey, uOttawa; Dr. David Birnie)

Bayer-CCS Resident Vascular Research Award Finalist (at CCC)
Dr. Hadi Toeg, Cardiac Surgery Resident

Vivien Thomas Young Investigator Award Finalist (at AHA)
Dr. Kay Maeda, Postdoctoral Fellow (Supervisor: Dr. Erik Suuronen)

uOttawa Faculty of Medicine Awards
Ms. My-Anh Nguyen (Supervisor: Dr. Katey Rayner) — Award in Excellence in Graduate Studies
Ms. Samantha Sarkar (Supervisor: Dr. Tom Lagace) — Award for Best MSc Thesis

UOHI Global Achievement Awards
Dr. Ruth McPherson (Research Leadership); Dr. Michel Le May (Clinical Academic Leadership)

UOHI Robert Roberts Award of Research Excellence: Dr. Marc Ruel

UOHI Investigator of the Year: Dr. George A. Wells

Share This