The 2021 Dr. Robert Roberts Award for Research Excellence

March 25, 2022

The University of Ottawa Heart Institute is pleased to announce Erik Suuronen, PhD, Michel Le May, MD, and Benjamin Hibbert, MD, PhD, have been selected as recipients of the 2021 Dr. Robert Roberts Award for Research Excellence. The Dr. Robert Roberts Award recognizes UOHI investigators who have published a peer-reviewed, original research paper that has, or is expected to have, a high impact on cardiovascular science and care.

Dr. Erik Suuronen is recognized for a high impact study looking at combined methylglyoxal scavenger and collagen hydrogel therapy, published in Advanced Functional Materials. This study demonstrated that the fisetin-collagen hydrogel therapy could reduce the accumulation and negative effects of methylglyoxal post-myocardial infarction, which shows promise to limit adverse cardiac remodeling, prevent damage, and preserve function after a heart attack.

Dr. Michel Le May is recognized for his impactful CAPITAL CHILL trial JAMA Cardiology. The trial showed that in comatose survivors of out-of-hospital cardiac arrest, a moderate target temperature of 31 degrees Celsius did not significantly reduce the rate of death or poor neurologic outcome at 180 days compared with a mild target temperature of 34 degrees Celsius. These findings add to the spectrum of target temperature for the management of comatose survivors of out-of-hospital cardiac arrest.

Dr. Benjamin Hibbert is recognized for his outstanding “DOREMI” study published in the New England Journal of Medicine. “DOREMI” is a randomized controlled trial comparing two inotropic therapies – Milrinone vs. Dobutamine – in cardiogenic shock patients. The study findings dispel the notion that Milrinone may be superior to Dobutamine. Dr. Hibbert and team found that there was no difference in outcomes between the two therapeutic approaches. The selection of an inotropic agent therefore can be based on physician comfort, cost and patients’ response to therapy.

Congratulations to Drs. Suuronen, Le May and Hibbert on their outstanding work!