Research Services

The Office of Research Services provides broad-based support to all University of Ottawa Heart Institute researchers. Activities and support provided by the Research Services Office include:

  • Ongoing communication for everything research related: This includes information on funding opportunities, seminars and other useful internal and external information.
  • Support during the Pre-Award processes: Administrative Review for all grant applications.
  • Support during the Post-Award processes: Setting up OHIRC research accounts, assistance in obtaining all ethical documentation for the timely release of funds and guidance in allowed expenditures and etc.
  • Management of the UOHI Internal Grant Review Program and other reviews and competitions.
  • Scientist performance management: Coordination of the annual Scientists Review and Performance Evaluation process, metrics of research and benchmarking.
  • Oversight of Research Management processes: Coordinating internal committee meetings, coordinating education and discussion sessions for faculty members, facilitating collaborations through affiliation with the University and the Hospital.
  • Clinical Research support: Providing assistance with submissions to the Ottawa Health Science Network Research Ethics Board and/or Clinical Trial Applications to Health Canada.
  • Support to trainees: Managing the UOHI travel awards process, assistance with coordination of Work In Progress rounds and linkages with the University of Ottawa.
  • Support for infrastructure and core resources: Management and coordination of service contracts, repairs to institute supported equipment, statistical software licenses and organizing product seminars and training.
  • Organization/liaison of annual conferences: including the Ottawa International Heart Conference, trainee Research Day and the International Toronto Ottawa Heart Summit.

Research Services Team:

Alison Hosey, PhD 
Manager, Research Services
613-696-7000 x18068
ahosey@ottawaheart.ca

Ann Nguyen, MSc 
Senior Research Services Officer
613-696-7000 x18940
annguyen@ottawaheart.ca

Alison Conley 
Pre-Award Officer 
613-696-7000 x19939 
aconley@ottawaheart.ca

Sharon Finlay, RN, CCRP 
Clinical Research Manager
613-696-7000 x18686 
sfinlay@ottawaheart.ca

Tina Hutchinson
Research Administrative Officer, Research Services
613-696-7000 x 14342
thutchinson@ottawaheart.ca

Anna Toma 
Resource Officer 
613-696-7000 x15254 
atoma@ottawaheart.ca

Vivian Franklin
Core Resource Technician
613-696-7000 x14468
vfranklin@ottawaheart.ca 

General Inquiries:

Interns’ Residence
The Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus

751 Parkdale Avenue
Ottawa ON K1Y 1J7
Fax: 613-696-7180
ResearchServices@ottawaheart.ca

Share This